View site in

L’épuisement professionnel : Définition et solutions

matches burning out

Nous vivons dans un monde au rythme effréné, qui nous incite à répondre instantanément à chaque « ding » de nos appareils. Cela, combiné à l'augmentation du télétravail, risque de brouiller les frontières entre notre vie professionnelle et notre vie personnelle.

À la longue, ce besoin de répondre à des attentes croissantes peut nous faire un tort considérable. Beaucoup de gens se sentent épuisés, mais continuent au même rythme, ignorant les symptômes physiques et psychologiques du stress. Ce sont pourtant les premiers signes d'épuisement professionnels, un état potentiellement débilitant qui risque d’avoir des effets de grande portée.

Il existe un lien étroit entre l'épuisement et le stress. Dans cet article, nous aborderons le syndrome de l'épuisement dans les relations personnelle et professionnelles. Nous examinerons la relation entre les deux, certaines des causes les plus courantes et des moyens de s’en rétablir. Développer des capacités d'adaptation saines peut vous aider à reconnaître et à atténuer l'épuisement. L'objectif ici est d'éviter d'entrer dans le cycle de l’épuisement et d’adopter une approche plus équilibrée de votre travail et de votre vie personnelle.

Qu’est-ce que l’épuisement professionnel?

C’est éprouver un stress intense et prolongé au travail, se sentir frustré·e, être fatigué·e d'aller travailler, avoir de la difficulté à composer avec les autres au travail.

L’épuisement professionnel est ressenti comme une perte de nos moyens

Avez-vous déjà eu l'impression d’avoir perdu de vue votre objectif? Avez-vous le sentiment de ne rien accomplir et de disposer de peu de ressources pour contredire cette impression? Lorsque ces pensées commencent à vous assaillir et que vous vous sentez perdre votre pouvoir d’action, il se peut que vous souffriez d'épuisement professionnel. Cela arrive quand on se met beaucoup de pression. Par exemple, lorsqu’on a des difficultés financières ou qu’on a l'impression de ne pas progresser dans notre carrière. Parfois, notre épuisement professionnel provient de notre fixation sur la réussite (réelle ou imaginaire) des autres.

Continuer, coûte que coûte

L’épuisement professionnel se manifeste parfois lorsque nous éprouvons des difficultés dans les aspects importants de notre vie. Il est parfois difficile, voire épuisant, de concilier notre rôle de parent, de conjoint ou d’aidant. Nous essayons toujours de répondre aux besoins et aux attentes des autres. Si on évite de tenir compte des « signes avant-coureurs », les résultats risquent d’être catastrophiques.

Quel est le lien entre l’épuisement professionnel et le stress? Est-ce la même chose?

Le stress et l’épuisement professionnel se ressemblent, mais il ne s’agit pas de la même chose. Une personne stressée a tendance à compenser en s’activant davantage, mais cette activité est temporaire. L’épuisement professionnel « est presque imperceptible au départ, particulièrement pendant une période d’activité intense ». Cependant, il continue d’agir, alimentant « un sentiment d’impuissance, de découragement et de démotivation (1). La Dre Lotte Dyrbye, médecin-chercheuse à la clinique Mayo, étudie l'épuisement professionnel; elle a déterminé qu’il n’est pas une maladie, mais plutôt « une manifestation de stress chronique non soigné » (2). Et bien que ce stress soit utile pour « passer à travers des situations difficiles », une pression prolongée s’avère nocive (3).

Un stress non géré débouche souvent sur une altération de la santé psychosociale et physique. Par exemple, un manque de sommeil peut déclencher de l'anxiété et du stress, ce qui peut entrainer un cycle sans fin de privation de sommeil. Ce tableau fournit plus de détails sur les changements psychosociaux et physiques qui découlent du stress non géré :

Changements psychosociaux (4)
– Anxiété
– Dépression
– Idées suicidaires
– Manque de concentration
– Trous de mémoire
– Évitement des activités sociales
– Manque de confiance en soi, sentiment d’échec
– Recours à des mécanismes d’adaptation malsains, comme
• l’abus d’alcool
• manger trop ou trop peu
– Abandon des pauses (souvent de son plein gré), comme :
• sauter le repas du midi
• travailler tard 
• ne pas prendre toutes les vacances auxquelles on a droit
Changements physiques
– Production élevée d’hormones de stress, comme :
• le cortisol
• l’adrénaline
• l’épinéphrine
• la noradrénaline
– Problèmes digestifs et gastrointestinaux, comme :
• l’indigestion
• la nausée
– les maux de tête
– douleurs
– l’essoufflement
– l’accélération du rythme cardiaque
– l’hypertension
– la baisse des défenses immunitaires et l’augmentation de la fréquence des maladies
– les perturbations du sommeil

Quelles sont les causes de l’épuisement professionnel?

Beaucoup de gens acceptent le stress comme inhérent à la vie moderne et endurent leur épuisement plutôt que de prendre des pauses de temps à autre. Si cela s’applique à vous, c’est que vous avez peut-être normalisé certaines des causes de votre épuisement professionnel. Bien qu'il existe plusieurs modèles qui s'attaquent aux causes de l'épuisement professionnel, ils ont tous tendance à cibler :

  • le lien qui existe entre le charge de travail et les responsabilités;
  • la pression qu’exercent ces demandes sur l’individu;
  • les changements d'attitudes et de comportements qui résultent de déséquilibres et qui sont utilisés comme mécanismes d'adaptation (5).

Aux premiers stades de l'épuisement professionnel, nous ne tenons pas compte de notre malaise. Lorsque le travail s'intensifie, nous exigeons encore davantage de notre corps et de notre esprit déjà épuisés. Nous espérons en quelque sorte que nos efforts et nos heures supplémentaires nous permettront de remédier à la situation et que les choses reprendront bientôt leur cours « normal ».

Une fois ces habitudes prises, nous devenons stressé·e­s et commençons inconsciemment à faire subir notre stress aux autres. Ces changements comportementaux inhabituels passent souvent pour le simple effet de la fatigue. Ainsi, de nombreuses personnes tentent de continuer malgré tout, mais leur corps finit parfois par présenter des affections graves et chroniques qui les obligent à prendre un congé de maladie pour cause d'épuisement professionnel (6). Ces changements peuvent causer, de façon graduelle ou soudaine, une maladie mentale ou un trouble lié à la consommation d'alcool et d'autres drogues.

Souffrez-vous d’épuisement professionnel?

Voici les questions à vous poser pour déterminer si vous souffrez d’épuisement professionnel (7) : 

  • Êtes-vous devenu cynique ou critique?
  • Vous levez-vous à contrecœur le matin?
  • Êtes-vous devenu irritable ou impatient·e?
  • Votre manque d’énergie affecte-t-il votre productivité?
  • Avez vous du mal à vous concentrer?
  • Avez-vous perdu le sentiment de satisfaction que vous aviez d’habitude après avoir effectué une tâche?
  • Êtes-vous désillusionné·e de la vie?
  • Avez-vous recours à la nourriture, aux médicaments, aux drogues ou à l’alcool pour vous sentir mieux ou pour vous engourdir?
  • Vos habitudes de sommeil ont-elles changé?
  • Souffrez-vous de maux de tête, de troubles digestifs ou d’autres malaises physiques?

Comment faire face à l'épuisement professionnel et s’en rétablir

Chacun vit l’expérience de l’épuisement professionnel à sa façon. C’est pourquoi les solutions de rétablissement seront fonction des besoins uniques de chaque personne. Quelle que soit sa situation, l’individu doit apporter des changements conscients pour se remettre de l'épuisement professionnel. Pour cela, il doit se ressourcer, faire une pause et participer à des activités qui :

  • lui sont bénéfiques;
  • promeuvent la santé et les bonnes habitudes;
  • favorisent les bonnes relations (8).

Pratiquez ces activités un peu chaque jour.

Il est important de s'engager consciemment à se rétablir. Cet effort régulier vous permet une meilleure écoute de votre corps et de votre cerveau et vous rend plus sensible aux signes de stress propres à l'épuisement professionnel. Vous pouvez ainsi changer vos priorités. Des études montrent qu'il est plus bénéfique de s’accorder des petites pauses chaque jour plutôt que d'attendre la fin de semaine ou les vacances (9). Le rétablissement se fait plus rapidement parce que les changements apportés sont plus fréquents.

Essayez ceci :

  • Notez exactement votre emploi du temps.
    Notez ce que vous faites, notez le nom de la ou des personne(s) avec qui vous le faites et ce que vous en retirez, et évaluez la valeur de l'activité. Vous pourriez également noter ce que vous préféreriez faire à la place et ce qui vous apporterait joie et satisfaction (10).
  • Apprenez à distinguer les choses que vous aimez et celles que vous n'aimez pas.
    Vous saurez ainsi quelles sont les personnes ou les activités qui vous dynamisent ou sapent votre énergie.
  • Que diriez-vous à un·e ami·e dans une situation semblable?
    Cela pourrait vous inspirer à faire preuve d’autocompassion et à vous traiter avec plus de bienveillance.
  • Débarrassez-vous de la pression.
    Laissez vos soucis professionnels au bureau. Ne vous sentez pas obligé·e de consulter vos courriels ou de répondre aux messages textes en dehors des heures de travail, car cela risquerait de nuire à votre rétablissement.
  • Prenez un moment de détente sans vous sentir coupable.
    • Fréquentez vos ami·e·s et votre famille et participez à des activités sociales. Cela est particulièrement important pour les personnes qui passent leurs journées à la maison.
    • Rappelez-vous que ne rien faire est tout à fait acceptable. Faites une sieste, regardez la télévision ou allongez-vous sur le canapé. Votre cerveau et votre corps ont besoin de repos.
  • Consacrez du temps à la créativité et aux loisirs.
    Écouter de la musique, tricoter, vous adonner à l'art, à la lecture ou à l’écriture sont toutes des activités recommandées. (Au Centre de santé Homewood et au Centre Ravensview, nos thérapies artistiques produisent d’excellents résultats!).
  • Faites de l'exercice tous les jours.
    Trouvez 20 minutes par jour pour marcher, danser, faire des exercices d'étirement ou du yoga. Doublez les bienfaits de votre pause en écoutant de la musique ou un livre audio pendant votre séance d’exercice.
  • Essayez-vous à la méditation de pleine conscience..
    Concentrez-vous sur ce que vous ressentez en respirant profondément pendant quelques minutes.
  • Mangez bien tous les jours.
    Une alimentation saine et équilibrée réduit le stress et la fatigue.

Lorsque vous aurez repris vos force grâce à ces activités quotidiennes, vous pourrez chercher les autres causes profondes de votre épuisement et mettre en place des limites protectrices. Voici une citation tirée d’un article portant sur les stratégies de rétablissement : « parler de sa détresse demande un certain courage, surtout lorsqu’on craint d’être considéré·e comme incapable ou amorphe » (11). Cela exige également beaucoup d'efforts et de patience envers soi-même.

Au travail, vous pourriez devoir parler à votre gestionnaire au sujet de votre charge de travail et des délais exigés, de la toxicité du milieu de travail ou d’occasions de reconnaissance et de récompense. Posez-vous ces trois questions :

  1. Quelle est la tâche la plus importante maintenant?
  2. Quelle tâche pourrais-je déléguer?
  3. Puis-je éviter les personnes ou situations qui me stressent?

À la maison, demandez à votre famille et vos ami·e·s le type d’aide dont vous avez besoin afin d’éviter une rechute de votre épuisement professionnel.

Au fil de votre rétablissement, déterminez ce que vous pouvez changer et ce qui est immuable; vous saurez mieux ainsi ce que vous pouvez faire pour voir les choses autrement. Vous pourrez également trouver d'autres façons de mener à bien des tâches que vous n’avez pas besoin de faire vous-même.

Vous pourriez également en arriver à un point où vous considérez qu’obtenir une aide professionnelle serait la bonne chose à faire. Le coaching et la thérapie peuvent réduire votre stress, vous aider à améliorer votre santé mentale et vous soutenir pendant votre rétablissement d’un épuisement professionnel.

Références

1. camh (n.d.). Career Burnout. Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. Article consulté le 14 octobre 2022 sur le site https://www.camh.ca/en/camh-news-and-stories/career-burnout

2. Dyrbye, Lotte, Ph.D. (article cité dans Moyer, Melinda W.) (15 février 2022). Your Body Knows You’re Burned Out. The New York Times. Article consulté le 14 octobre 2022 sur le site https://www.nytimes.com/2022/02/15/well/live/burnout-work-stress.html

3. Ibid.

4. Scott, Elizabeth, Ph.D. (Article mis à jour le 16 octobre 2022). How to Recognize Burnout Symptoms: What to Do When Your Job Is Stressing You Out. verywellmind.com. Article consulté le 14 octobre 2022 sur le site https://www.verywellmind.com/stress-and-burnout-symptoms-and-causes-3144516

5. Maslach, C. et Leiter, M.P., (5 juin 2015). Understanding the burnout experience: recent research and its implications for psychiatry. World Psychiatry Journal. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4911781/

6. Maté, G. (janvier 2019). When the Body Says No: The Cost of Hidden Stress || U.S. Title: When the Body Says No: Exploring the Stress-Disease Connection. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://drgabormate.com/book/when-the-body-says-no/

7. Personnel de la clinique Mayo. (5 juin 2021), Job burnout: How to spot it ad take action. Mayo Clinic. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/in-depth/burnout/art-20046642

8. Nortje, A. Ph.D., (17 avril 2021). How to Recover From Burnout With 14 Exercises & Treatments. Positive Psychology.com. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://positivepsychology.com/how-to-recover-burnout/

9. Valcour, Monique. (novembre 2016). Beating Burnout. Harvard Business Review. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://hbr.org/2016/11/beating-burnout

10. Ibid.

11. Raypole, C. (article révisé par le médecin Weatherspoon, D., Ph.D., MSN). Burnout Recovery: 11 Strategies to Help You Reset. healthline. Article consulté le 30 novembre 2022 sur le site https://www.healthline.com/health/mental-health/burnout-recovery

matches burning out
Welcome to Homewood Health
We are Canada's leader in mental health, in-patient treatment programs and emotional therapy. Whether you're looking for support for yourself, a loved one, or simply need resources on where to start, we can help.

Homewood Locations

Health Centre in Guelph

A premier private facility for addiction and mental health treatment in a comfortable, luxurious setting.

The Residence at Homewood

In Guelph, ON – A premier private facility for addiction and mental health treatment in a comfortable, luxurious setting.

Ravensview in North Saanich

Providing immediate, expert treatment for mental health, addiction and concurrent conditions.

How Homewood can help

Lorum ipsum text to give user understanding to the treatment & intake process. About treatment & process
Support for Bucket #1

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #2

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #3

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #4

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Voir le site en

Burnout:  What is it and How to Cope

matches burning out

We live in a high-speed world driven by the urge to instantly respond to every ‘ping’ from our devices. This, coupled with increasing work-from-home options in today’s market, can blur the lines between our professional and personal worlds.

Over time, our need to meet increasing expectations can do significant damage. Many people feel worn out yet press on, ignoring the physical and psychological signs our bodies produce in response to stress. These are the first signs of burnout, a condition that can be debilitating and have far-reaching effects.

Burnout and stress are connected. In this article, we’ll look at burnout as a syndrome both individuals and groups can experience at work and in relationships. We’ll examine the relationship between them, look at some common causes, and discuss ways to approach recovery. Developing healthy coping skills can help you recognize and mitigate burnout. The goal here is to avoid entering a cycle that creates it, thus creating a more balanced approach to work and life.

What is Burnout?

When people have been living with high volumes of stress for a prolonged time, there is a higher-than-average likelihood that they are experiencing burnout.

Burnout feels like you need more direction

Have you ever felt like you’re losing yourself? Do you feel like you may have a sense of reduced personal accomplishments and resources to cope? When you begin to have these thoughts and feel like you don’t have much control over your life, you might be experiencing burnout. These feelings often creep in when we place a lot of pressure on ourselves. For example, we might face financial difficulties or feel like we’re not progressing in our careers. Sometimes, we can trigger burnout when we fixate on the success of others- real or perceived.

Pushing through at all costs

We can also experience burnout when we encounter difficulty in the critical roles we play. Being a parent, a partner, or a caregiver can sometimes be an overwhelming balancing act. We are driven to fulfill the needs and expectations of others. Without heeding the ‘warning signs,’ the results can be catastrophic.

How is burnout related to stress? Aren’t they the same?

Stress and burnout are related but different. Stress arises when people overreact or become hyperactive in response to what they are experiencing, but this is temporary. Burnout “can creep up at times, especially during busy periods” and stick around, producing “a sense of helplessness and hopelessness, with loss of motivation and hope.” (1) Dr. Lotte Dyrbye, a research physician with the Mayo Clinic, studies burnout. She has determined that it is not a medical condition but “a manifestation of chronic unmitigated stress.” (2)  And while our bodies use stress to “power through difficult situations,” when these pressures are prolonged, it causes harm. (3)

Unmanaged stress often results in psycho-social and physical health changes. For example, poor sleep can trigger anxiety and stress, which can lead to an unending cycle of sleep deprivation. Here’s a chart that provides a closer look at the psycho-social and physical changes that arise from unmanaged stress:

Psycho-social changes (4)
Anxiety
– Depression
– Suicidal ideation
– Concentration difficulties
– Memory lapses
– Withdrawing from social activities
– Lack of confidence, feelings of failure
– Turning to, or relying on, unhealthy coping mechanisms such as:
• Increased alcohol consumption
• Over/undereating
– Avoiding the need to take breaks (often self-imposed):
• No lunch breaks
• Working late 
• Not taking vacation time
Physical changes
– High production of stress hormones such as:
• Cortisol
• Adrenaline
• Epinephrine
• Norepinephrine
– Changes in eating habits and other gastrointestinal problems such as:
• Indigestion
• Nausea
– Headaches
– Body aches
– Shortness of breath
– Rapid heartbeat
– Hypertension
– Reduced immunity and more frequent sickness
– Changes in sleep patterns

What causes burnout?

Many people accept stress as a normal part of life and push through their exhaustion rather than take periodic breaks. If that sounds familiar, then you may have normalized some of the causes of burnout. While there are several models that address the causes of burnout, they all tend to focus on similar things:

  • the relationship between the volume of tasks and accountabilities,
  • the strain you experience to meet those demands, and
  • the “changes in attitudes and behavior” that result from imbalances and are used as a coping mechanism. (5)

In the first stages of burnout, we neglect our own discomfort. When our workloads intensify, we commit our already exhausted bodies and minds to more responsibilities. We somehow hope that our dedicated efforts and extra hours will remedy the situation and things will return to “normal.”

Once these patterns become normalized, people experience stress and unconsciously begin to project it. They may display uncharacteristic behavioural changes, which are often explained away as simply “being tired.” While many people still attempt to push through, eventually, their bodies can present them with severe and chronic conditions that force them to pause and address burnout. (6) These changes can see the gradual or sudden introduction of mental illnesses and substance use disorders.

Could you be experiencing burnout?

Here are questions you can ask yourself to help you determine if you are experiencing burnout (7): 

  • Have you become more cynical or critical of people?
  • Do you reluctantly get out of bed every day?
  • Have you become irritable or impatient with people?
  • Do you lack the energy to be consistently productive?
  • Do you find it hard to concentrate?
  • Do you lack a sense of satisfaction when you complete a task?
  • Do you feel disillusioned about your life?
  • Are you using food, drugs, or alcohol to feel better or not feel anything?
  • Have your sleep habits changed?
  • Are you troubled by unexplained headaches, stomach or bowel problems, or other physical complaints?

How to cope and recover from burnout

Everyone experiences burnout differently. It’s essential to understand that recovery will require a combination of remedies depending on one’s unique needs. Whatever your situation, we need to make conscious changes to cope and recover from burnout. It should include a “recharge [of their] resources…tak[ing] a break…and participat[ing] in other activities” that:

  • “have beneficial consequences”
  • “promote good health and habits” and
  • “foster supportive relationships.” (8)

Work on it a little bit every day

It’s important to commit to taking steps to recover every day. With regular effort, people become more attuned to their bodies and minds and start to pay attention to the signs of stress that burnout creates. They can reflect and re-establish priorities. Studies show that it’s more beneficial to start taking small actions daily rather than waiting for weekends or vacations. (9) With this approach, recovery happens faster, because it’s more consistent.

You can try the following:

  • Assessing exactly how you are spending your time.
    Track what you are doing, with whom, your feelings and rate how valuable the activity is. You can also note what you’d rather be doing and what makes you feel content or happy. (10)
  • Learning what you like and don’t like.
    You’ll gain insight into people that energize or drain you and discover what affects your mood and energy.
  • Thinking about what you would say to a friend in the same position.
    It can inspire you to realize that you need to be more self-compassionate and treat yourself more kindly.
  • Disconnect from pressures.
    Leave work at work. Don’t feel obligated to check work emails or respond to text messages outside of working hours. It creates “interference” that impedes recovery.
  • Relax, guilt-free.
    • Focus on spending time with friends and family and participating in social activities. It can be especially important for people who spend their days at home.
    • Remember that doing nothing is entirely okay. Take a nap, watch TV, or lie on the couch. Your brain and body also need to rest.
  • Make time for creativity with focused time on a hobby
    Listen to music, knit, make art, read, or write. (At the Homewood Health Centre and Homewood Ravensview, we incorporate artistic modes of therapy and we do witness positive outcomes among our patients!)
  • Commit to movement/exercise daily.
    Finding 20 minutes a day to walk, dance, stretch, and do yoga can help. Double up and listen to music or an audiobook while you move.
  • Begin mindfulness practices.
    Try focusing on the sensations you feel while breathing for a few minutes.
  • Eat well every day.
    A healthy, balanced diet can reduce stress and fatigue by nourishing your body.

Once you’ve regained strength from these daily activities, you can focus on addressing other root causes of burnout and create boundaries. One article on recovery strategies suggested that “opening up to people about the distress you’re experiencing can take some courage, especially when you worry they’ll see you as incapable or lazy.” (11) It does take a lot of effort and patience.

At work, this can mean having conversations with your supervisor and management about your workload and deadlines, the environment and workplace toxicity, and opportunities for recognition and reward. Try to focus on these three things:

  1. What can be prioritized?
  2. Can you delegate some tasks?
  3. Can you avoid people/situations that create stress?

At home, recovery means having conversations with your family and friends to articulate the kind of support you need to prevent burnout from occurring again.

During the recovery process, you’ll assess what is fixed and what can be changed. Doing this helps you better understand what you can do to shift your perspective. You’ll also be able to explore alternative ways to accomplish things that don’t always have you taking charge to get them done.

You may also get to a point where you feel that reaching out to a professional for guidance could be very helpful. Coaching and therapy can help you reduce stress levels, give you tools to improve your mental health and act as solid support as you navigate your way back from burnout.

References

1. camh (n.d.). Career Burnout. Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. Retrieved October 14, 2022 from https://www.camh.ca/en/camh-news-and-stories/career-burnout

2. Dyrbye, Lotte, Dr. (As cited in Moyer, Melinda W.) (2022 February 15). Your Body Knows You’re Burned Out. The New York Times. Retrieved October 14, 2022 from https://www.nytimes.com/2022/02/15/well/live/burnout-work-stress.html

3. Ibid.

4. Scott, Elizabeth, PhD. (Updated 2022, October 16). How to Recognize Burnout Symptoms:  What to Do When Your Job Is Stressing You Out. verywellmind.com. Retrieved October 14, 2022 from https://www.verywellmind.com/stress-and-burnout-symptoms-and-causes-3144516

5. Maslach, C. & Leiter, M.P., (2015 June 5). Understanding the burnout experience:  recent research and its implications for psychiatry. World Psychiatry Journal. Retrieved November 30, 2022 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4911781/

6. Maté, G. (2019 Jan). When the Body Says No:  The Cost of Hidden Stress  || U.S. Title:  When the Body Says No:  Exploring the Stress-Disease Connection. Retrieved on November 30, 2022 from https://drgabormate.com/book/when-the-body-says-no/

7. Mayo Clinic Staff. (2021, June 5), Job burnout:  How to spot it ad take action. Mayo Clinic. Retrieved November 30, 2022 from https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/in-depth/burnout/art-20046642

8. Nortje, A. Ph.D., (2021 April 17). How to Recover From Burnout With 14 Exercises & Treatments. Positive Psychology.com. Retrieved November 30, 2022 from https://positivepsychology.com/how-to-recover-burnout/

9. Valcour, Monique. (2016 November). Beating Burnout. Harvard Business Review. Retrieved November 30, 2022 from https://hbr.org/2016/11/beating-burnout

10. Ibid.

11. Raypole, C. (Medically reviewed by Weatherspoon, D., Ph.D., MSN). Burnout Recovery:  11 Strategies to Help You Reset. healthline. Retrieved November 30, 2022 from https://www.healthline.com/health/mental-health/burnout-recovery

matches burning out
Welcome to Homewood Health
We are Canada's leader in mental health, in-patient treatment programs and emotional therapy. Whether you're looking for support for yourself, a loved one, or simply need resources on where to start, we can help.

Homewood Locations

Health Centre in Guelph

A premier private facility for addiction and mental health treatment in a comfortable, luxurious setting.

The Residence at Homewood

In Guelph, ON – A premier private facility for addiction and mental health treatment in a comfortable, luxurious setting.

Ravensview in North Saanich

Providing immediate, expert treatment for mental health, addiction and concurrent conditions.

How Homewood can help

Lorum ipsum text to give user understanding to the treatment & intake process. About treatment & process
Support for Bucket #1

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #2

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #3

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Support for Bucket #4

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.